A Vegan in Texas – Spiral Diner Review

October 21, 2011 at 9:20 pm Leave a comment

What? Texas? Yes! I’m now living in Texas. I believe their unofficial slogan is The Land of Beef.

Confession: I’m not currently vegetarian or vegan right now. Excuse: I’m living with family and currently unemployed. I’m conserving money as much as I can, so I’m eating what gets put in front of me. Am I hating every minute of it? No, but I do think about my goal to become vegan multiple times a day.

In fact, the more flack I get from people, the more drive I have. The other night, I made my beloved vegan chili for my meat-loveing family. It went over very well. Honestly, there’s no reason why a meat-lover wouldn’t LOVE this chili. Over dinner, I learned that chili in Texas contains pretty much nothing except meat. WHERE AM I?!?! Later, my aunt and uncle came over to visit their grandchildren and I got it all from my uncle. I didn’t expect him to understand  my reasons (health, ethics, etc.) and he noted that I’ll hear it from him until the day he dies. I’m okay with that.

Last week, I went to Spiral Diner, which I had researched even before I moved and could not wait to try. It’s in Dallas, specifically Oak Cliff. It’s got the old-fashioned diner vibe, but definitely not a typical diner menu. They use 100% organic whenever they can and are 100% vegan. Their menu ranges from coffee, teas, juices, organic sodas, smoothies, and shakes to salads, sandwiches, wraps, burgers, and dinner plates.

I ordered the El Paso nutty burger. The nutty burger is made out of sunflower seeds, carrots, brown rice and spices. Although a veggie burger isn’t very adventurous, I had to try this burger made out of non-typical ingredients. Usually when you go to a restaurant and order a veggie burger, you get the standard frozen burger, but this one sounded unique. The burger came with guacamole, chipotle mayo, pickled jalapenos, and red onions. I ordered it with a side of potato salad. It. Was. Good. And it was gone fast. The burger was kind of crunchy at times, which I assumed were the sunflower seeds, but the texture was great and overall so tasty.

A couple at a neighboring table ordered the meatball sub. It smelled and looked SO GOOD. I made note that I’d try it out next time.

And whilst dining alone (also an experience), I discovered the Texas State VEGGIE Fair. Every year in the month of October, Dallas hosts the Texas State Fair, which is full of vendors selling fried butter, corn dogs, fried Oreos, fried Twinkies, fried pickles, fried whatever-the-heck-you-can-dream. And of course, all of the farmers with the animals. This weekend though, is the veggie fair with veg groups, veg vendors, veg fried deliciousness! I guess there is hope for Texas, after all.

P.S I had pictures of my food; HOWEVER, I updated my iPhone and it deleted all of my pictures and sent them to iCloud (I think and hope), but I can’t figure out how to access them. Sad. If you can offer assistance, please do!

Entry filed under: Dining Out, Food and Recipes, Vegan Thoughts. Tags: , , , , , , .

Super Easy Bean Tacos with Plantains And we’re back

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to Senza Carne!

Click to follow Senza Carne

Calendar

October 2011
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Tweet Me

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Categories

Recent Posts


