Super Easy Bean Tacos with Plantains

August 22, 2011 at 11:50 pm Leave a comment

I got this recipe from Your Daily Vegan. I started following her on Twitter and she posted the recipe. It sounded so simple that I just HAD to try it! I made a couple adjustments, mostly just so I could make enough to serve 5 people.

Taco Ingredients: serves 5

  • 2 cans of black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can of whole corn, drained
  • 1/2 white onion
  • 1 jar of salsa
  • taco shells or wraps – if the wraps are large, just cut then in half to make two!

Dump the beans, corn, onion, and 1/2 of the salsa into a skillet pan and cook on medium to high heat until the onions are soft, stirring often. The original recipe calls for 1/2 a jar of salsa, but I poured more like 3/4.

I added pico de gallo, lettuce, and guacamole (recipe below) to top them off.

Plantain Ingredients:

  • 3 plantains – plantains should be yellow with brown/black spots
  • oil

Peel the plantains, cut them in half length-wise. Cut each half into four chunks. Fry them on a skillet on low to medium heat. As they cook, they’ll soften so you can mash/flatten them. Flip them so they are browning on both sides.

I also made guacamole. Usually I include onion and tomato in my guac, but I whipped this one up quick with 2 avocados, garlic powder, a squirt of lime juice, and a dash of cilantro. I love to taste the garlic in my guac, so put in however much you like.

Entry filed under: Food and Recipes. Tags: .

Vegan Cooking: Favorites & Flops A Vegan in Texas – Spiral Diner Review

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to Senza Carne!

Click to follow Senza Carne

Calendar

August 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Tweet Me

Categories

Recent Posts


