Monday Night Dinner

August 15, 2011 at 11:11 pm 2 comments

Well, it started off rough. I cut all the veggies and had them “cooking” on the stove for at least ten minutes, periodically seasoning and stirring only to eventually discover that I had turned on the wrong burner. The rice was “cooking” for about twenty minutes in the steamer when I realized that I plugged it in, but failed to turn it on. Double whammy right there, but it all worked out!

The recipe was inspired by a dish that my boss shared with me. It was so simple, yet still so flavorful. She made her dish with chicken, which I omitted.

The ingredients:

  • summer squash
  • zucchini
  • long grain brown rice
  • broccoli
  • pepper
  • garlic powder
  • minced onion
  • 1 lemon
  • Bragg’s Liquid Aminos

I thought about adding kale and/or tofu, but I’m still getting used to tofu and I’d like to be better at cooking it before giving it to the family. For the seasonings, I tasted the veggie as they cooked and just added in more pepper and garlic to add more flavor.

I cooked the veggies in oil and freshly squeezed lemon juice. I definitely underestimated the flavor impact of lemon, so the veggies were almost too lemony, but it still went over well. After everything was cooked, I mixed it with Bragg’s Liquid Aminos. Just as good as soy sauce, but so much less sodium!

I’ll put the recipe up soon for you to enjoy!

Entry filed under: Food and Recipes.

Vegan Crock Pot Chili Vegan Cooking: Favorites & Flops

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erin Plante  |  August 16, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    Stir-fry is definitely one of my favorite meals. So yummy and healthy. And two thumbs up for the Bragg’s! Love it.

    Reply
    • 2. Senza Carne  |  August 16, 2011 at 5:25 pm

      Yeah, it’s really good! It gave me heartburn, I think, but I may have just used a bit too much.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to Senza Carne!

Click to follow Senza Carne

Calendar

August 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Tweet Me

Categories

Recent Posts


