Discovering a liking for tofu

February 20, 2012 at 2:36 am 2 comments

Since the beginning of my vegan journey, I have seen tofu as a necessary evil. It would be something that I would have to try very hard to like. And man, have I tried hard to be besties with this veg staple, but our relationship wasn’t very friendly until I discovered a recipe for Bulgogi-style tofu.

The only thing I know about actual Bulgogi is that it is Korean and some kind of meat. And it’s probably really good, considering I found the tofu recipe DELICIOUS. Can you even believe it? It is flavor packed; it’s supposed to marinate for at least 8 hours, but I had it marinating for much longer…much, much longer. But as far as I’m concerned, there is nothing wrong with that!

So apparently, tofu is something that needs to be pressed. I learned that from the recipe, but I pressed mine for way longer than necessary (because I suck at reading directions) and it was still not completely dry. So, I REALLY want (read: need) one of these – TofuXpress. It smushes the crap out of the tofu without stacking books on top of tofu and waiting an hour for it to smush. And without wasting approximately seventeen paper towels.


The other issue was that I didn’t slice the tofu thin enough, but this only excites me about making it again. This was so good on the first, clearly imperfect attempt that I can only imagine it getting tastier and tastier with each try. I enjoyed it with brown rice and a side of garlic kale.

Kale is bitter when raw. It’s so bitter that when I ate it in a salad once, I couldn’t finish the salad. Cooked, however, kale is ah-maz-ing. Smothered in garlic? To. Die. For. Plus, garlic and I are total bffs. I am in LOVE

with garlic. The only change I plan to make to this recipe is to use less Earth Balance. The recipe calls for vegan butter and olive oil, but I’m pretty sure I will be happy with using much less of both ingredients. The garlic and soy sauce flavor is plenty! A bite of tofu and kale together? Divine.

Needless to say, both of these recipes have excited me about going vegan. And both of these pictures have shown me that I really need to work on my food photography skills.

Entry filed under: Food and Recipes, Vegan Thoughts. Tags: .

And we’re back More Cooking Success!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amanda  |  February 21, 2012 at 3:09 pm

    The tofuxpress is a great, great tool. I love mine. I totally think you should get one. :)

    Reply
    • 2. Senza Carne  |  February 21, 2012 at 9:56 pm

      Oh I certainly plan to! I’m still new at this so before reading this recipe, I had no idea about pressing tofu. Makes sense though. Can’t wait to get one!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to Senza Carne!

Click to follow Senza Carne

Calendar

February 2012
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
26272829  

Tweet Me

Categories

Recent Posts


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

